Candidate rosters set for spring primary races

Error message

  • Notice: Undefined index: taxonomy_term in similarterms_taxonomy_node_get_terms() (line 518 of /data/etypego2/public_html/
  • Warning: Invalid argument supplied for foreach() in similarterms_taxonomy_node_get_terms() (line 517 of /data/etypego2/public_html/
  • Notice: Undefined offset: 0 in similarterms_list() (line 221 of /data/etypego2/public_html/
  • Notice: Undefined offset: 1 in similarterms_list() (line 222 of /data/etypego2/public_html/

By Brenda Sommer
Managing Editor

Dec. 8 was the last day for candidates to file to run in the March party primaries, solidifying the line-up for local, state and federal offices.

As expected, Republicans far out-numbered Democrat candidates in local races, with no Limestone County races having a Democrat running at all. There is one Democrat running for the State Senate seat that includes Limestone County, Joel Shapiro, who will face the unopposed Republican incumbent, Charles Schwertner, in the fall general election.

Incumbent State Rep. Kyle Kacal, a Republican, has drawn an opponent in his primary – Timothy Delasandro – but no Democratic opposition come November.

Local incumbents running completely unopposed for re-election include 87th Judicial District Judge Deborah Oakes Evans, County Judge Daniel Burkeen, County Clerk Peggy Beck, Pct. 1 Justice of the Peace Marcus Ray Hanna, Pct. 3 JP Sherri Lenoir and Pct. 4 JP Ray Jones, all Republicans. None drew a Democratic opponent.

To read more, pick up a copy of Thursday's Mexia News, or subscribe to our e-edition.